NSW PARLIAMENT

BICAMERAL SYSTEM

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY LOWER HOUSE

REPRESENTAT	All Members of Parliament (MP) are elected by the people in an electorate to represent them in Parliament. New South Wales is divided into 93 electorates.	VES The 42 N represent
POLITICA	Executive Government is formed by the political party with the highest number of MPs, the leader of this party becomes the Premier. MPs serve for a term of 4 years and are generally members of a major political party, voting along party lines.	MLCs serve election. Me includes
MAKING LAWS	A bill must be introduced, debated and agreed by both Houses before it can become a law. Both Houses can introduce bills but only the Lower House can introduce a bill for Government spending (money bills).	Bills from th be debate require a
RESPONSIBIL	The Lower House initiates and approves money bills. The activities of the Executive Government are scrutinised by the Lower House to ensure it is accountable to the people.	The Up TIES scru



LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL UPPER HOUSE

Members of the Legislative Council (MLC) are elected to nt the people from the whole of NSW rather than a single electorate.

e for a term of 8 years with one half elected at each State lembers are drawn from a state-wide electorate and often s minor and independent parties; representing a wider diversity of views than the Lower House.

the Lower House are introduced into the Upper House to ed, amended, or passed all over again. This process may a bill to be passed between Houses until both agree on details before the bill can become a law.

Jpper House is often called the *House of Review* as it rutinises the actions and decisions of the Executive Government, holding them to account.